Forest City Road Race

Last year I participated in the Forest City Road Race for the first time.  It was my first time running completing a 5K.  I beat my goal time, and was excited to go back and do it again this year.  We packed up and headed to London of Friday night (we had other things to do before the race Sunday morning).  Headed to Victoria park Saturday afternoon to pick up my race kit.  it was FREEZING outside!!  And I got the kids registered to run the Kids Fun Run.  They ran it last year and my son totally left  my husband in his dust.  LOL.

Image

My 5K starts at 8:30 Sunday morning, so I set my alarm for 6.  Sunday morning, my alarm goes off and I am NOT well at all.  Now I’m not one to let sickness get me down very often.  I usually have to be pretty sick to stay home.  Well, this was one of those times.  I really didn’t think that I’d be able to finish the race in one piece.  So I crawled back into bed, and re-set my alarm so that we could get the kids to their race.

The kids were so excited to run again this year.  My son decided that he was going to run it by himself just like a grown up this year.  So we let him.  My daughter wanted to as well, but we decided that my father in law would run with her.  Now the kids race is only about 600 meters from one side of the park to the other, but it was far enough (in my mind), that my daughter (who just turned 4), was still to young to do it by herself.  Thankfully the kids didn’t catch whatever bug I had and were able to complete their race.  They had a blast and can’t wait for their next race.

Image

 

Just as with the event last year, the event was fantastic!  The volunteers were wonderful, the event was well organized, the snacks for the runners were delicious (or so my kids told me).  My kids couldn’t wait to jump in the bouncy castle when they finished running.  I can’t wait to participate again next year – maybe I’ll even up it to the 10K.

Here’s hoping I’m feeling better for this coming weekend as I have another 5K to complete – the Le Chocoalte 5K.  Can’t wait for that.

Leave a Reply

