Le Chocolat 5K

Sunday May 4, 2014.  A beautiful sunny morning.  Not too hot.  Not too cold.  Perfect for running a 5K with a friend.

This was the first time that I was participating in this race.  They call it “A Mother’s Day Primer” as it happens the weekend before Mother’s Day, and they have some great “gifts” available for those who participate.  Last year all of the participants received a Coach purse as party of their registration.  This year it was a 3L “purse” of wine from Pelee Island winery – your choice of red or white.  I chose red.  🙂

Image

So yes all participants (well 19 and over) received the box of wine, and then at the end of the race everyone received chocolate.  I did wonder what wine and chocolate had to do with running, but let’s face it, it’s wine and chocolate, I didn’t really care.

I had planned to do this race be myself – none of my family are “runners”.  Well my son would have come with me, but he would have left me in his dust.  Anyways, I found out that my friend Tara was doing this as well, so we decided we do it together.  Even better we discovered that neither one of us had trained for this event, so we were both going to walk it.

Here we are waiting for it to start:

ImageImage

 

Here we are part way through:

Image

And here we are at the end with our chocolate:

Image

Now we weren’t in this to win the race by any means, we had fun, and enjoyed our walk along the Detroit River.  My finish time was 1:00:54.  Not my fastest time, but not bad considering that we walked and made 2 pit stops.

This was the second race I’d completed that was organized by Running Flat.  Again I thought it was well organized (although I did hear that they had a few “mix-ups”), I was fortunate to not be affected by any of them.  I’ll be competing in another one of their event July 1st – the Canada D’Eh Run, and I am scheduled to complete the World Alzheimer’s Day Run for Heroes 10K in September again.

Thanks Tara for being my walking buddy.  Can’t wait to do this one again next year.  Maybe I can get some of my family out with me next year too.

Image

Leave a Reply

