Disapointed

So this past weekend was the Run For Heroes Marathon in support of Alzheimer’s Disease in Amherstburg Ontario.  I completed the 10K last year – my first 10K, and had signed up to complete it again this year.  Sadly I didn’t compete – I didn’t even make it out there.  I knew it would be challenging completing the event being 28 weeks pregnant.  But because I had registered for it long before I was pregnant, I had plenty of time to train for it.  Even if I couldn’t run it and just walked it, I was going to complete it.  At least that’s what I told myself in the spring.

Sadly the training didn’t happen like I wanted it to – or at all for that matter.  And the fact that I can currently barely walk up 2 flights of stairs without getting winded was a good indication that there was no way that I could walk 10K.   I have no one to blame but myself – thus the reason for my disappointment.

But now it’s time to look forward to next year and start planning and prepping for that.  Baby will be about 9 months old, so there should be no reason why I can’t complete it.  And as I’m already starting to look for other runs to complete before this one perhaps I’ll even beat my time from last year.

So …. who’s coming with me to compete next year?  Or at least participate in some of the other runs I plan to do leading up to it?  I’ve recently found some fun sounding runs that I can’t wait to run in.  And since I was only able to complete one race this year, I have many that I need to add next year if I’m ever going to reach my goal of 40 races before I turn 40.

Leave a Reply

