Grammar, Spelling and Punctuation. 

This wasn’t a planned post, and it’s really more of a rant about one of my pet peeves. 

What has happened to basic grammar and spelling rules?  I understand that when you’re texting a friend you might use gr8 as a response. But on a business page?  Really?  Unless you’re trying to make a point (which they didn’t seem to be.)

This is the one that drove me over the edge tonight. I was scrolling through one of my support/networking groups for my business and the person asked what we would do if a customer “wanna” pay by cc.  WANNA?  Really?  Well I don’t wanna answer your question because I don’t like the word wanna.  And don’t even get me started on the their, there, they’re fiasco. 😳

And punctuation!!!  I recently read an email with no punctuation at all. No periods. No commas. No capitalized letters. Nothing. 

Now those who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones. (Or something like that). And I’m the first one to admit that my grammar at times is horrible.  And yes I’ve made posts with spelling mistakes. If I see it, I go back and correct it. But some of these basic spelling errors are no better than my son’s attempts at spelling some words. Did I mention that he’s in second grade and spells most of his words phonetically?

Maybe this doesn’t bother others as much as it does me. Maybe it’s just a sign that I’m getting old.  Please tell me I’m not the only one bothered by this. Please. 😉

Leave a Reply

