Slow and Steady Finishes the Race

This past Sunday I ran jogged and walked the World Alzheimer’s Day Run for Heroes 10K.  This is the second time I’ve completed this event and sadly it will be the last as the organizers announced that they will not be able to continue this next year.  This race takes place in Amherstburg, Ontario and takes you along the Detroit River, through Fort Malden and through the town.

I’m not the fastest person out there.  Not even close to being the fastest person.  I don’t really consider myself a runner.  Yet I still compete.  I LOVE the feeling of accomplishment when I’m done.  I LOVE that I’m showing my kids how to be active (even if they weren’t at the even with me).  I LOVE that I can support a great cause that’s close to my heart – Alzheimer’s.  And let’s face it, who doesn’t love a little bling to show off.  😉

I first completed this event in 2013.  This year I completed it 15 pounds heavier than in 2013.  We’ve added one additional child to our family since I last completed this event (9 months ago).  But I was still as under prepared for it as I was the first time.  This time however, I noticed some things.

  1. Runners are a group of pretty AMAZING people.  I was able to chat with a couple of people along the way.  Both of them were battling injuries but were still out there.
  2. Runners come in all shapes, sizes, age and fitness levels.  I was inspired by some of the people I saw out there – passing me on the course no less.  People who were probably almost twice me age.  People who did not fit the “athletic” profile at all.  And some of these people were SO much stronger than me and appeared to run the entire course while I couldn’t even run a full kilometer.
  3. The people of Amherstburg are such friendly people.  There didn’t appear to be quite as many people sitting on the street watching this year as there was 2 years ago.  But the people who were there were so supportive.  Some had music playing for us.  There was a man out with his guitar singing on one of the streets.  Some yelled out words of encouragement.  A boy about 5 stood at the end of his driveway giving everyone “5” as they ran by with a big grin on his face.  Awesome to see during those last few kilometers when you’re ready to give up.
  4. I really run better with some music.  So I will not forget it next time.
  5. It is possible to get blisters from shoes that you’ve worn to train in all summer.  😦
  6. The volunteers along the way were so friendly and awesome.  Words of encouragement.  Telling you how much further you had to go.  One man at a water station was even offering Tim Bits.  LOL.
  7. I CAN do this.  Even though I hate running, I can do it.  And I feel AMAZING once I’m done.  I can battle that fatigue and play the mind games with myself after kilometer #7.  And I want to continue to do these.

12042896_10153503661971815_4477645661794819750_n

I didn’t beat my time from last time but I still beat my ultimate time goal.  Barely.  I can’t wait to do my next race.  Who thought I’d ever say that?  I’d LOVE to do a half marathon, but feel like I need to get my 10K time down first.  I think first though I will do a 5K with my 8-year-old.  He has joined the cross-country team at school this year and LOVES it.  As I continue to foster his love of running I will continue to work towards getting better and faster with my own runs.

Leave a Reply

