Monday

Ahhh Monday.  The day that so many people wake up hating.  It’s really unfair isn’t it?  It comes every week, yet many of us hate Monday mornings.  Perhaps it’s because its the end of an amazing 2 days you’ve just had with family or friends.  Perhaps it’s because you have to head back to a job you hate.  Perhaps it’s waking up to the alarm clock you dislike.

I used to hate Monday’s too.  Now I tend to look forward to Monday’s.  I don’t look forward to the before school rush – getting lunches ready, breakfast’s eaten on time, teeth brushed, a potential argument about whether it’s really cold enough that my 8 year old has to wear snow pants.  I look forward to getting back to a bit of a routine.  I look forward to having a few minutes to myself when the baby is sleeping – though I know that won’t last forever.  I look forward to being able to go for a walk (when it’s not too cold as it has been lately).

Perhaps it’s part of the “absence makes the heart grow stronger” thing.  As much as I enjoy that time during the day with just myself or just baby and me, I also look forward to picking up my older 2 from school.  I can’t wait to hear about their adventures from the day.  I can’t wait for my hubby to get home – yes I know that sounds sappy.  I can’t wait for squeals of excitement form the kids when dad walks through the door.  Our crazy conversations at dinner, the uncontrollable and infectious giggles from the kids, and so much more.

The next time you wake up on a Monday morning and dread the day, look at all the good things that will happen later that day.

Leave a Reply

